CHA Awards

Each year, the Connecticut Hospital Association, honoring both hospitals and individuals in healthcare, presents distinguished awards. All of the recipients have demonstrated outstanding commitment in leading, representing, and serving hospitals and other healthcare-related organizations.

T. Stewart Hamilton, MD, Distinguished Service Award

The T. Stewart Hamilton, MD, Distinguished Service Award, introduced in 1970 and awarded in most but not every year since then, is granted to individuals who "contribute significant, noteworthy services to the health of the public."  Recipients are individuals who have made a career in the healthcare field and have contributed or achieved excellence in governance, management, or clinical services. Primary consideration is given to the contributions of potential recipients in the following areas: improving the welfare of healthcare consumers; innovations in administrative methods and practices; service in local, state, or national organizations in the healthcare field; promotion of positive public relations within the community; networking, collaboration, and integration with other healthcare providers and agencies; advocacy of social and other legislation relating to improved quality of care; advancement of the art and science of healthcare administration. 


John D. Thompson Award for Excellence in the Delivery of Healthcare Through the Use of Data

Since 1994, this award has been given to one hospital each year to honor the contributions made by John D. Thompson to healthcare administration and patient care quality during his career.

Recipients are selected based on how the hospital or healthcare system successfully improved patient care due to a modification in process as substantiated through the use of data. A panel comprising representatives from various organizations with an interest in healthcare quality judge's entries. There is a two-year period of ineligibility for previous John D. Thompson Award winners.

Download the application here.

Connecticut's Hospital Community Service Award

This award, jointly awarded by the Connecticut Hospital Association and the Connecticut Department of Public Health since 1993, recognizes a Connecticut hospital or healthcare system that has made an outstanding contribution to its community, particularly for a program or service targeted toward a particular segment of a hospital or healthcare system's community.

Entries are judged by a panel, including a DPH representative and a representative from the Connecticut media. There is a two-year period of ineligibility for previous Community Service Award winners.

Download the application here.

Service in Pursuit of Excellence Award

The Service in Pursuit of Excellence Award was established in 2015 by the Executive Committee to honor individuals who have displayed extraordinary service to the healthcare field. Recipients will have demonstrated dedication in areas including: patient care, quality and patient safety, health equity, population health – or for innovative work in any area that advances the healthcare mission.

CHA Honorary Membership Award

The CHA Honorary Membership Award was established in 1968 to recognize certain individuals who distinguished themselves with their personal dedication and contributions to the advancement of healthcare services.