Connecticut Hospital Association


Annual Meeting

The 2024 Connecticut Hospital Association (CHA) Annual Meeting took place on Thursday, June 13, 2024 with the theme of Caring for Connecticut Together.  CHA welcomed over 450 leaders from Connecticut’s hospitals and health systems, state health officials, and community partners to celebrate this year’s award winners and hear from this year’s keynote speaker.

CHA Board Chairman Christopher M. O’Connor, Chief Executive Officer, Yale New Haven Health, addressed the gathering, highlighting how the collaborative spirit and action of hospitals and health systems has enabled care providers to continue to succeed in a changing and unprecedented landscape.  He also discussed the significant and continued contributions of Connecticut hospitals and health systems to improve health outcomes and strengthen communities across the state.

Looking ahead, incoming Chairman Patrick Charmel, President and Chief Executive Officer, Griffin Health, provided remarks about the challenges faced by hospitals and health systems and the importance of elevating collective work to support all communities and patients.

CHA Board President Jennifer Jackson, CEO, CHA, also spoke about the opportunities for continued collaboration and the strength that exists in working together, as a unified association to advocate on critical healthcare issues.

The event also celebrated multiple award winners.

The winners of the 2024 Connecticut’s Hospital Community Service Award and the 2024 John D. Thompson Award for Excellence in the Delivery of Healthcare Through the Use of Data, as selected by judging panels, are as follows:


















CHA thanks all those who submitted entries and shared their hospital’s outstanding work. 

In addition to the above awards presented to winners selected by the judging panels, the CHA Executive Committee conferred two additional awards presented at the Annual Meeting:

CHA’s Healthcare Heroes Award, which celebrates and recognizes the invaluable contributions of exceptional healthcare workers, both to their field and to the community at large, was presented to a hero selected by each hospital. Click here to read more about each Healthcare Hero.

The 2024 Annual Meeting also featured as the keynote speaker Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist, associate editor for The Washington Post, and television personality Jonathan Capehart.  Capehart shared insight about the 2024 election, discussing what may lie ahead, and how the intersection of politics and people reshapes our nation every day.

CHA gratefully acknowledges the generous Annual Meeting sponsorship of Platinum Sponsor Kaufman Hall.


Full Version